WMI Home
about us Research Methods and Techniques Teaching People Publications Master and PhD theses Contact    
News and Events


Walther-Meißner-Institut (WMI), Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Chair for Technical Physics (E23), Technische Universität München

Nobel Prize in Physics 2003


October 07, 2003

October 07, 2003
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2003 "for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids" jointly to
Alexei A. Abrikosov
Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, U.S.A.,
Vitaly L. Ginzburg
P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Moskau, Russland,
Anthony J. Leggett
University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, U.S.A.
This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded to three physicists who have made decisive contributions concerning two phenomena in quantum physics: superconductivity and superfluidity. Superconducting material is used, for example, in magnetic resonance imaging for medical examinations and particle accelerators in physics. Knowledge about superfluid liquids can give us deeper insight into the ways in which matter behaves in its lowest and most ordered state.

More information can be found in the press release of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.
Alexei A. Abrikosov
Vitaly L. Ginzburg
Anthony J. Leggett

© Walther-Meißner-Institut Impressum | Datenschutz