WMI Home
about us Research Methods and Techniques Teaching People Publications Master and PhD theses Contact    
About us


Walther-Mei▀ner-Institut (WMI), Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften



Privacy / Datenschutz
Imprint / Impressum


The Walther-Mei▀ner-Institute for Low Temperature Research (WMI) is a research institute of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BAdW). It conducts fundamental and applied research in the field of low and ultra-low temperature physics with special focus on superconductivity, magnetism and quantum phenomena. It also develops low and ultra-low temperature methods and techniques and supplies liquid helium to both Munich universities.
Photo of the Walther-Meissner-Institute
The Walther-Mei▀ner-Institute on the Garching Research Campus near Munich, Germany.
The historical roots of WMI go back to Walther Mei▀ner who founded the "Commission for Low Temperature Research" in 1946 when he was president of BAdW (1946 - 1950). The first research activities then were started in 1946 in the Herrsching barracks. After the retirement of Walther Mei▀ner in 1952, Heinz Maier-Leibnitz, who followed Walther Mei▀ner on the Chair for Technical Physics of the Technical University of Munich (TUM), became the new head of the Commission for Low Temperature Research. In 1967, the commission moved to the Garching research campus after the construction of the new "Zentralinstitut fŘr Tieftemperaturforschung (ZTTF)" was completed. Until 1972, the theory group of the Institute Laue Langevin was hosted at the ZTTF. In 1980, Prof. Dr. Klaus Andres became the new director of the ZTTF followed by Prof. Dr. Rudolf Gross in 2000, again associated with the Chair for Technical Physics (E23) at the Physics Department of TUM. In 1982, the ZTTF was renamed into Walther-Mei▀ner-Institute for Low Temperature Research (WMI) on the occasion of Walther Mei▀ner's 100. birthday.

The individual research groups of WMI offer attractive research opportunities for bachelor, master and Ph.D. students, as well as postdoctoral fellows.

Organizational Structure

The WMI Scientific Advisory Board

According to paragraph 19 of the statutes of BAdW the research activities of WMI are supervised by its Scientific Advisory Board. The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are appointed by the Section III "Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik, Technikwissenschaften" of BAdW for five years. They include members of BAdW, representatives of the two Munich universities (TUM and LMU), as well as leading national and international scientists. The head of the Scientific Advisory Board must be member of BAdW.

WMI organisation chart

Present Members of the WMI Scientific Advisory Board:

, Dieter (University of Augsburg, chairman)
Abstreiter, Gerhard (TU Munich, deputy chairman)

Bloch, Immanuel (LMU Munich and Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics)
Bühler-Paschen, Silke (TU Vienna)
Finley, Jonathan (TU Munich)
Gross, Rudolf (TU Munich, consultative member)
Hänsch, Theodor (LMU Munich and Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics)
Wallraff, Andreas (ETH Zurich)
Weiss, Dieter (University of Regensburg)
Zinth, Wolfgang (LMU Munich)

The WMI Management Board

The WMI Management Board, which is headed by the managing director, is responsible for the development a nd implementation of the research program. It The WMI directors hold full professor positions at one of the Munich universities (TUM or LMU). They are appointed in a joint process of the respective university and BAdW. The directors are supported by the following members of the WMI Management Board: deputy director, technical director and elected representative of the scientific staff. They are appointed by the Section III "Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik, Technikwissenschaften" of BAdW for five years at the suggestion of the members of the WMI Scientific Advisory Board.

The internal organizational structure of WMI is as follows (a pdf of the organigram can be downloaded here)

WMI organisation chart


© Walther-Meißner-Institut Impressum | Datenschutz